1. Title of the Commission or Working Group with the name of the reporter, and that of Officers

Commission on Classification of Minerals (Reporter: D. Yu. Pushcharovsky)

2. Overall objectives of the Commission on Classification of Minerals:

To review existing systems of mineral classification, to provide advice on the classification of minerals to the mineralogical community, and to participate in national and international symposia relevant to the general subject of mineral classification and to help keeping contacts with member countries by distributing and collecting information related with systematic mineralogy and classification of minerals.

3. Organisation

Officers-

Chairman: D. Yu. Pushcharovsky Vice-chairman: E. H. Nickel Secretary A. M. McDonald

Number of business meetings

Two

The main activities

Prepared a discussion paper on the standardization of mineral groups (D.Yu. Pushcharovsky, M. Pasero, E. H. Nickel & G. Ferraris) which was discussed at the business meeting of the CCM in Paris.

Engaged in discussions with the Commission on New Minerals and Mineral Names regarding a possible amalgamation of the two Commissions. A vote of the CCM membership supported the amalgamation by a majority of 8:1.

Financial support

None

4. Interface with IMA projects and other International projects

CCM initiated two MS at IMA General Assembly in Kobe: i) Crystal structure, topology and crystal chemistry (CCM); ii) New minerals and mineral classification (CNMMN, CCM);

5. Chief accomplishments in 2004

Administration - Business Meeting

Two business meetings were held in Paris on September 7, 2004, one of which was held jointly with the Commission on New Minerals & Mineral Names

Outreach

Bulletins, News

Website

Technical Meetings

Participated in the organization of the symposium "Crystal Structures of Minerals; Topology and Classification" (convenors: D. Yu. Pushcharovsky & E. Tillmans) at the International Geological Congress in Florence, 2004.

Publications

"Minerals: Definition and Classification" (E. H. Nickel) in Encyclopedia of Geology; Elsevier, 2004.

T.Szakáll, Sándor (2005): Ásványrendszertan. [Mineral systematics] Miskolci Egyetemi Kiado [Miskolc University Press], Miskolc, Hungary. p. 336

6. Chief problem encountered in 2005

Funding -

Meeting - etc

7. Workplan for 2006

Administration

Potential targets: Main attention will be concentrated on the

preparation to IMA assembly in Kobe

Recruitment of new officers: I.Pekov (MSU, Russia) is considered

as a candidate for CCM chairman. This idea was discussed with CCM and CNMMN members

Suggestion for new aims and objectives

Database

Business Meetings

Communication

Website

Dissemination of information

Consolidation of partnerships: A member of CCM – M.Novak is a chairman of the Subcommission for classification of tourmaline group minerals. Currently, the discussed Report has 29 pages without references. The main problem in this respect is to find the way how to combine complicated structure and chemistry of tourmaline (with B,H,Li and Fe2+/Fe3+) with results from electron microprobe (without H, B, Li, Fe2+/Fe3+)), which represent perhaps 99% of torumaline analyses. M.Novak is also a member of the Subcommission for classification of pyrochlore group minerals (chairman T.S. Ercit).

Technical Meetings

Publication

News-Bulletin

Papers for Elements

Books - Special publication

If the CCM is amalgamated with the CNMMN in 2006, as proposed, matters concerned with mineral classification will be incorporated into the activities of the CNMMN. Therefore it is not possible to draw up a detailed workplan now.

8. Preparation of the IMA Business Meetings in Kobe

Anticipated work plan for the commission or Working group for the next four years :

National representative - Officers

Participation in research projects

Sponsoring of conferences, short course, workshop

Two symposia to be sponsored at the 2006 IMA meeting in Kobe

Development of cooperation with IMA Com./WG

Proposed amalgamation with the CNMMN (see above).

Development of cooperative ventures with affiliated IUGS bodies Budget

Communication towards scientific and the non-specialized public: Austrian Mineralogical society awardered D.Pushcharovsky F.Becke medal.

9 List of Officers and National Representatives

Chairman: D. Yu. Pushcharovsky Vice-chairman: E. H. Nickel Secretary A. M. McDonald National Representatives:

Argentina Dr. M. A. Galliski
Australia Dr. J. Brugger
Austria Dr. H. Effenberger
Belgium Dr. A.-M. Fransolet
Brazil Prof. M. N. C. Ulbrich
Canada Dr. A. M. McDonald

China Dr. Y. Zhuming Dr. V. Bermanec Croatia Czech Republic Prof. M. Novak Denmark Dr. E. Makovicky Egypt Prof. M. E. Murtada Finland Prof. M. Lehtinen Germany Dr. C. Geiger Greece Dr. T. Soldatos Hungary Dr. T. G. Weiszburg Italy Dr. G. Lucchetti Dr. R. Miyawaki Japan New Zealand Dr. P. Black

Russia Dr. D. Yu. Bushcharovsky

Dr. G. Raade

Dr. G. Udubasa

Sweden Dr. D. Holtstam
Switzerland Prof. S. Graeser
Ukraine Dr. A. A. Val'ter
USA Dr. G.E. Harlow

Chairman of CCM D.Yu.Pushcharovsky

Norway Romania

> Co-chairman of CCM E.Nickel